compare

OptAlgo vs 3Commas

3Commas is the biggest crypto bot marketplace: DCA, grid and signal bots on 9 exchanges, a demo account and a paid AI assistant. OptAlgo is a strategy lab: your AI writes the strategy, the backtest is graded for honesty and overfitting, and the bot only trades after paper. Here is where they differ.

Official Binance broker · Non-custodial · Live only when you confirm · Updated

OptAlgo3Commas
Backtest honesty grade (A–D)✓—
Overfit check (deflated Sharpe, variants counted)✓—
Walk-forward, Monte Carlo, permutation tests✓not stated
AI writes the strategy from plain wordsClaude, ChatGPT, Claude Code, CodexQuantPilot (AI assistant)
Works inside Claude.ai / ChatGPT (MCP)✓not stated
TradingView alerts to a bot✓✓
Prebuilt DCA / grid botsGrid templates; no DCA botDCA, grid, signal, arbitrage
Paper tradingFree plan, 200 trades/moDemo account, all plans
ExchangesBinance, Bybit, OKX (+ Alpaca stocks)9 exchanges
CustodyNon-custodial, keys without withdrawalSoftware only; funds on exchange
Free planYes, no cardNo free plan; free trial
Entry paid plan$29/mo (Plus)$20/mo monthly, $15/mo annual (Starter)

As of · Source: 3commas.io

01

Where 3Commas is stronger

Breadth. 3Commas runs on 9 exchanges, ships ready-made DCA, grid and signal bots, a Smart Trade terminal, arbitrage bots and a large marketplace of presets. If you want to click a DCA bot into existence on KuCoin in two minutes, 3Commas does that and OptAlgo does not.

02

Where OptAlgo is stronger

Proof before trading. Every OptAlgo backtest returns an honesty grade (did the fills, fees and funding really happen on 1-minute data?) and an overfit verdict (how many variants did you try?). Walk-forward and Monte Carlo runs use the same engine. A strategy graded D cannot be deployed, and every bot runs on paper before you switch it live.

03

Building strategies with AI

3Commas sells QuantPilot, an agentic platform that builds and optimises strategies inside 3Commas. OptAlgo plugs into the AI you already pay for: Claude.ai, ChatGPT, Claude Code and Codex connect through MCP or an API key, write plain Python against the OptAlgo SDK, and you keep the code.

04

Pricing and the free plan

3Commas lists Starter at $20/mo monthly ($15/mo annual), Pro at $50 ($38) and Expert at $140 ($105), with a free trial and no free plan. OptAlgo has a Free plan with 50 backtest units a month, 2 bots and 10 live trades, then Plus at $29/mo and Pro at $99/mo, with a 14-day money-back guarantee.

faq

OptAlgo vs 3Commas FAQ

Is OptAlgo a 3Commas alternative?

For traders who want a strategy backtested and graded before a bot runs it, yes. For traders who want prebuilt DCA or arbitrage bots across many exchanges, 3Commas covers more exchanges and bot types.

Can I move my TradingView bots from 3Commas to OptAlgo?

Yes. OptAlgo accepts TradingView alerts through a webhook and a Strategy Key, the same pattern as a 3Commas signal bot. The free OptAlgo templates on TradingView include the alert message format.

Is this comparison fair?

Every competitor cell quotes that company's own pricing or product page on the date shown under the table, and says “not stated” when their page does not say. If something changed, email [email protected] and we will update it.

Can I use OptAlgo and the other platform together?

Yes. OptAlgo backtests and runs strategies on your own exchange account through API keys, so nothing stops you from keeping another platform connected to the same or a different sub-account.

Test the difference on your own strategy.

Start free, no card

50 backtest units a month on the Free plan.